CLICK HERE! For Electronic Services and Online Payment

Printer-friendly version

Written by Gian Borgonia

     DILG MIMAROPA awards the Gawad Pamana ng Lahi to the province of Palawan, Puerto Princesa City and the municipality of Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro for their exemplary performance in Administrative Governance, Social Governance and Environmental Governance. The regional winners received glass trophies and Php3,000,000, Php2,000,000 and Php1,000,000 respectively.

     The award was received by Governor Abraham Kahlil  ‘Baham’ B. Mitra for the province of Palawan and Mayor Eduardo B. Gadiano for the municipality of Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro. Among the nearly one hundred attendees present in the awarding ceremony were Occidental Mindoro Governor Josephine Y. Ramirez-Sato, Oriental Mindoro Governor Alfonso V. Umali, Jr., Romblon Governor Eduardo C. Firmalo and Regional Directors, other officials and personnel of MIMAROPA government agencies. The awarding ceremony coincides with the MIMAROPA RTC-RPOC.

     The Gawad Pamana ng Lahi award accords government recognition to exemplary performance. Also, the award is an instrument to scale-up the valuing of accountability, transparency and inclusivity in local administration and development. The winners are entitled to access the Performance Challenge Fund (PCF) subsidy to jumpstart local development initiatives aligned with the thrusts and priorities of the national government in order to achieve the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), maintain core road network to boost tourism and local economic development, and comply with the Philippine Disaster Risk Reduction Act of 2012 and Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000.

     Winners of the award were chosen from the pool of regional finalists composed of all MIMAROPA provinces for the provinces category; Puerto Princesa City and Calapan City for the cities category; and Torrijos, Marinduque, Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro and Odiongan, Romblon for the municipalities category. Winners were determined through several non-negotiable eligibility criteria that make them credible for receiving the coveted award. Before being declared as winners, finalists must be Seal of Good Housekeeping Silver Recipient for 2012, garnered LGPMS OPI of not less than 4, and have an over-all rating in GPLA assessment of not less than 80%.

Palawan, Puerto Princesa City contenders for nat'l Gawad Pamana ng Lahi Award

By Victoria Asuncion S. Mendoza
Thursday 10th of January 2013

PUERTO PRINCESA CITY, Palawan, Jan. 10 (PIA) -- The province of Palawan and Puerto Princesa City are national finalists in the national level of the Gawad Pamana ng Lahi (PNL) Award administered annually by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

DILG Provincial Director Mario Daquer said that both LGUs are regional winners in the Mimaropa and become automatic contenders in the national level along with 11 provinces, 12 cities, and 10 municipalities.

He said that being a regional winner is a recognition of the provincial government’s adherence to good governance principles of transparency, accountability, and inclusivity in local administration and development.

As incentive for winning in the regional level, the province will get P3 million while Puerto Princesa City gets P2 million from the Performance Challenge Fund. Sablayan municipality in Romblon bagged the award for the municipality category.

The Gawad Pamana ng Lahi Award is a total award system conferred to the most deserving province/city/municipality for reason of exemplary performance in administrative, social, economic, and environmental governance.

As national finalists, the two LGUs have already been visited by the national validation team for screening processes which involved table assessment and on-site validation.

Daquer said that the assessment of the national validation team focuses on the scores in Local Governance Performance Management System, the Seal of Good Housekeeping, and the assessment of innovations and awards.

Winners in the national level will be awarded P5 million each for the province, city, and municipal category. (LBR/VSM-PIA4B, Palawan)